Virtually Speaking

Second Life along with the First.

Copybot Update

Things are happening pretty fast now. For one thing, the copybot being sold on SL Exchange has been taken down. Ethan Cinquetti is offering a “simply copybot defeater” for free, but I’m having trouble searching for it on SLX  (Edit: he’s made the source code available here – paste into a script and stick it into a prim, rez and voila). I do have a “copybot detector” that tells me if anyone in my vicinity is running the bot – it also is free and copyable. Ask someone in the Sellers Guild if you want one.

The Sellers Guild channel has been roiling all day with anger and speculation. Several good-sized merchants are either closing their doors or are threatening to. Some are closing in an attempt to protect their creations (though if one item’s been sold somewhere, it can be copied by someone with this bot) and others are closing as a protest. The Guild is going to try to get an audience with Philip to express our displeasure and concern. How he will react is another issue, stay tuned.

The end result of all this has been a massive loss of confidence in Second Life and in the Lindens. Some of my very best friends are SL merchants, and some of them were practically in tears today as they see their hard work being ripped off gratis by greedy, lazy thieves.

At this point I’m not sure what the Lindens can do. You can shut down the libsecondlife project (not likely) but it’s too late – the copybot is already unleashed on the world. You could change key parts of the protocol to make it not work, but for how long? And what would protocol changes do to the unstable, teetering pile of code the grid stands on now? You risk throwing out the baby with the bathwater going down that slope.

If it’s any consolation, I’m told that Copybot is not easy to use. You have to install Microsoft .NET, you have to know a few things about C# and about UUID detection, and you have to have script skills. That doesn’t mean it’s impossible, but it might mean that this hole in the Hindenberg might not explode right away.

I’m trying to be optimistic — or at the very least patient. Meanwhile I have to agree with my friend Allana Dion who said on her blog:

From now on, I don’t care what LL does, I don’t care what they say, I don’t care what their plans for the future of SL are. I’m here to be with Nai and with my friends and the day, the very day, something competitive to Second Life comes along, I’m out. The moment Second Life has some legitamit competition, a new virtual world built by another company, the new guys can count me among the willing. I will happily jump on board and see how much better they can do.

Allana, I hear you – and you are definitely not alone.

November 14, 2006 - Posted by | Second Life

1 Comment »

  1. I can understand people being near tears. When I woke up this morning and read the Linden blog I very nearly was too. I felt like they were saying screw you all, we only care about our own asses. I feel slightly, minisculely (sp?) better knowing that at least they have decided it violates the TOS and I guess I’ll wait to see what that really means to them.

    In the meantime…so about this Sellers Guild? How does one get deemed worthy of entry? :D

    Comment by Allana Dion | November 15, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

